Captured Moments
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

ISO, aperture, shutter speed

2 posters

Go down

ISO, aperture, shutter speed Empty ISO, aperture, shutter speed

Post  rohape Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:41 am

This is always a big topic of discussion. While I am no professional, I feel a have a pretty good grasp on this. Anyone feel free to add on or challenge. Smile
ISO Adjusts your sensor's sensitivity to light. Lower it for more detailed and when you have plenty of light. Raise it as your light source gets dimmer.
Aperture The best way to explain this is visually....http://www.photoaficionado.com/situationroom/aperture.html
Shutter speed How long your shutter is open allowing your sensor to be exposed to more or less light.
I know a lot or all of anyone reading this has read a book or about this somewhere else. The best thing I can suggest is, instead of going around shooting, pick a time of day. Choose 1 subject, flip over to M, look at your settings, take a picture. Make adjustments to ISO only, take a picture. What happened?
Ok, leave your ISO alone (bright day light flip it back to 100 or your lowest setting). Go to your f/stop. Lower it all the way (2.8 etc.). Your lowest f/stop is considered "wide open". If you read the link attached to the Aperture part you'll understand.....

Seeing a trend here? Change one setting at a time, at the same shooting location at the same time. Look at what's happening to your shots. Practice, practice, practice. Make a conscious effort to focus what you've read in your books in to practice.