Captured Moments
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Lighting without the dark shadows

3 posters

Go down

Lighting without the dark shadows Empty Lighting without the dark shadows

Post  Nicole123 Fri Aug 08, 2008 7:29 pm

Hello All! I'm new to the forum and hope to get some help, as I'm also new to photography.

I have a photography light set of 3 lights. It has 2 umbrellas and also the little shade things that go over the lights (sorry for the terrible terminology, but I have no idea what they are called). Anyway, I have placed a basic white background up and am trying to take pics of my daughter. I love the look of plain white background and flooring. My problem is that I can't figure out how to prevent horrible shadows behind her. I understand that there will be some shadowing, but I don't want any shadows behind her...I want it to be a crip clear white background. Can anyone please help me out?

Thanks in advance.

Nicole123

Back to top Go down

Lighting without the dark shadows Empty Re: Lighting without the dark shadows

Post  JaneK Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:01 pm

Let me start by saying that I don't have a studio and I don't have studio lights. But when I get a shadow behind my subject and I'm using a flash (or a source of light), it is because the flash is not diffused enough or is not bounced (ie. pointing too directly at subject). Can you try moving the lights a little or turning them down (if that's possible)? Also, are you lighting the background as well?

JaneK

Back to top Go down

Post  Tory Fri Sep 05, 2008 9:42 pm