Captured Moments
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A good lens for football/sports?

2 posters

Go down

A good lens for football/sports? Empty A good lens for football/sports?

Post  tara30us Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:06 am

I am not very good with outside pics, and only shoot in auto mode. But I think this next season I want to be a bit better. Here in AZ we always have super bright days, but harsh sunlight (even early in the morning) and no shade. These are from last year on auto/sports setting (rebel) with a 75-300 lens. What settings would be better and is there a lens that would give better shots without being ultra expensive.

A good lens for football/sports? Game6050
A good lens for football/sports? Game4176

A good lens for football/sports? Game2232

tara30us

Back to top Go down

A good lens for football/sports? Empty Re: A good lens for football/sports?

Post  mawson Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:38 am

I think you did great in harsh sun! Wonderful shots! Crisp, clear, with no uneven lighting at all!
I also use a 75-300 Canon IS lens on my 30d. It works well for me. I tend to shoot in AV mode continuous shooting. (about 5 fps) I put it in the lowest F stop I can go, cause I like shallow DOF. I also am forced to shoot in harsh sunlight and one just makes the most of it, like you seem to be doing. I use a lot of backlighting and just take way too many pics. Here are some from Saturday I took.
Unfortunately, with sports one has little control of the lighting and where the subject is standing! Your pics seem awesome though, i don't know why you don't feel you are good at outside shots.

A good lens for football/sports? Swimk

A good lens for football/sports? Swim

A good lens for football/sports? Swii

A good lens for football/sports? Swi

and this one I took with the wrong ISO and wrong WB:
A good lens for football/sports? Wb
mawson
mawson

Back to top Go down

Post  tara30us Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:41 am